A Post from the MetroLink

Thanks to the iPhone, I’m making this post while riding the St. Louis MetroLink. I’ve been reading Jan Swafford’s Brahms biography, it’s fantastic. Also read a great article in the New Yorker about the Marlboro festival. Man, it would be really awesome to get to visit it one day. I didn’t know that two of my favorite pianists were the current directors- Richard Goode and Mitsuko Uchida. I listened to her recording of Mozart Piano Sonata No. 2 in F Major today. Awesome piece of music. I played through the adagio of it today and it’s as satisfying to play as it is to listen to… Maybe even moreso.

Listened to Brahms’ C Major Piano Sonata yesterday, it was great. What a strong choice for Op. 1. When asked why he chose it instead of the Eb Scherzo, Brahms said that he wanted to appeal to peoples’ heads and not their heels. l listened to the Eb Scherzo, which was good but not as texturally satisfying as his later piano work.

I’m gonna get into Liszt soon.

Well, that’s about all I can write while on a train.

Leave a Reply

