In the record player.

I haven’t been to many live concerts lately because there hasn’t been much going on, but I did go to see the SLSO play along with The Wizard of Oz, which was a lot of fun. I thought they played really well with the film, and both my girlfriend and I enjoyed the experience. The tickets were a bit pricey but it was definitely worth it, as it’s not something I’m likely to see again during my lifetime.

I’ve been on break for two weeks now, and I’ve been taking a lot of time off from practicing and studying. I’ve had the opportunity to listen to a bunch of good music and read some great books. 

Right now I’m reading John Adams’ autobiography, “Hallelujah Junction”. It’s really a very fascinating book- I’m thoroughly enjoying it.

I’ve been on a jazz kick for the past few weeks- maybe because of the baroque overload at the end of Survey of Music History 1 this past semester. I guess a month of Bach and Handel warrants a few weeks of Miles Davis, Art Blakey, Cannonball, etc.

I’ve been listening to Art Blakey’s “Moanin'”. Really a great album.

Also spinning have been Coltrane’s “Giant Steps”, Thelonious Monk’s classic “Monk’s Dream”, and Oliver Nelson’s “Blues and the Abstract Truth”, which is one of my all-time favorite albums.

That’s about all I have going on right now. I’m about to sign off and watch Wall-E.

Happy New Year.

Leave a comment