First post: Mozart, Mahler 9.

I realized recently that I was wishing I had kept better track of all the shows I went to and music I listened to over the past years. Then, I realized that it’s the 21st century and that I could probably do so, and not only that, but do it on the internet! 

I suppose the mission of this blog is to write about music I listen to, whether it’s classical or pop, vinyl or iPod, live or studio. I guess anything goes, as of now. We’ll see what happens. 

.

Last night I went to see the SLSO play Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 19 in F Major and Mahler’s 9th Symphony.

I was pretty bored with the Mozart. I’m not a huge fan of Mozart to begin with, but I’m usually at least entertained with his stuff. It seemed like 30 minutes of I-V-I-V-I. A small exaggeration, I guess.

The pianist was Jeremy Denk, who was really great. I guess the most memorable part of the Mozart was that Jeremy Denk came and sat right behind us to listen to the Mahler.

The Mahler. Earlier this week in Master Class, Jim Martin was talking about Mahler and said something to the effect of “Once you see Mahler 9 live, you’ll never be the same.” Having seen it now, I really can’t say that he’s wrong. It totally blew my mind. 

I really loved every second of the 80 minute performance. I don’t think I’m going to be rating performances on this blog, but if I did, it would get 5 stars, 10/10, and “two thumbs up!”

Tomorrow night we have the Webster Wind Ensemble concert, in which I’ll be playing bari sax on two songs: a Bach prelude and a Singelée quartet piece. We’ll see how that goes…

.

I also feel like I should include things that have been in my CD player. Lately, I’ve been listen to Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique, the new Coldplay album called “Viva la Vida”, and Radiohead’s “In Rainbows”.

The Berlioz is great, I have to do a bunch of research on it so that I can figure out what he’s trying to do. I’ve heard stories. The Coldplay album is pretty cool, but not as good as their second album, “A Rush of Blood to the Head”, which is one of my all-time favorite rock albums. I went to see them in Kansas City last week- it was the second time I’ve seen them. They consistently do one of the most professional and well-producted live concerts I’ve had the pleasure to attend.

And Radiohead is Radiohead. A great album from the best band on the planet today.

 

Next week: SLSO does Ravel, Bartok, Strauss.

Leave a Reply

